Just before ESSENCE Festival started McDonald’s launched a new Twitter account @McDScene. The purpose of @McDScene is to bring a mix of community news and event updates, 365 days a year! It was perfect timing as McDonald’s had a full list of events during ESSENCE Festival ranging from dinners, panels, performances and the annual 365 Black Awards. I had the opportunity to join fellow McDonald’s executives and franchise owners for a dinner at Cafe Reconcile. Cafe Reconcile mission is to teach innovative life skills and job training to young people (ages 16–22) from severely at-risk communities who desire to make a positive change in their lives. During the dinner McDonald’s served attendees with a “McDonald’s Menu Infused” which featured various special dishes made from items off of the McDonald’s menu. Part of the menu included a Muffazella Salad, Yaka Mein and a Lemon Ice-Box Pie.

The morning of July 5th McDonald’s hosted/filmed their annual #365BlackAwards. Prior to the taping, host and award recipients walked McDonald’s “Golden Carpet” where I had a chance to meet various recipients such a Demetria McKinney, Soledad O’Brien, Kevin Liles, Will Packer and Iyanla Vanzant.

The McDonalds #365BlackAdwards will air on BET Networks on August 10 at 10 p.m. EDT/9 p.m. CDT and on CENTRIC on August 17 at 11 p.m. EDT/10 p.m. CDT.

McDonald’s 365Black Awards to Recognize Remarkable Leaders in Entertainment, Humanitarianism, Business, Sports and Inspiration for Dedication to Serving Communities
11th annual awards program to feature sensational performances by today’s hottest stars

Read the full McDonald’s 365Black Awards Press Release below

Below are more photos from McDonald’s “Golden Carpet” and dinner.

For quote and more on McDonald’s 365 Black Awards see: Overheard On The Golden Carpet: Essence Festival Brings The Stars To McDonald’s 365Black Awards (EXCLUSIVE)

Read More ESSENCE on
2014 ESSENCE Festival
Part 1: ESSENCE Festival 2014 New Attendee Record with over 550,000 attendees
Part 2: Interview with ESSENCE president Michelle Ebanks on Women and Innovation with Google Glass
Part 3: P&G Uses Behavior Change Technology and The Braxton Sisters For More “Gains” During ESSENCE
Part 4: Verizon Connects ESSENCE To the World
Part 5: An ESSENCE Fest with McDonald’s @mcdscene + #365BlackAwards
Part 6: Ford Empowers Culture during ESSENCE #fordup
Part 7: An interview with Anthony Anderson on Black-ish at ESSENCE
Part 8. An actor with a purpose, Nate Parker talks Beyond the Lights
Part 9: Can ESSENCE Festival be the SXSW for African- Americans?
Part 10: 6 Inspiring photos from the ESSENCE Festival YESWECODE Hackathon
Part 11: Nielsen’s Diversity Intelligence Data Will Make You Rethink Inclusion
Part 12: Photos From ESSENCE Festival 2014

Full ESSENCE coverage on can be found at:

Get an Email When We Release New Content

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Comments are closed.

Pin It on Pinterest